Work Related Practice – Tiger Print Competition

‘This month we want you to focus on creating a black and white collection of surface pattern. There is currently a great trend for black and white which is spreading across not just greeting cards and stationery but home interiors, fashion and accessories.

At Tigerprint a really great black and white design can work well in a range to create a dramatic statement on the shelf at M&S.’

http://designcompetition.tigerprint.uk.com/page/CONTESTS/contest/Blackandwhite

The running theme throughout my designs is flora; I decided this as my main influence because it’s a popular theme, which works with a range of products and appeals to a broad audience.

My main influence is from photographs, which I have taken over the summer of flowers from family members gardens, a national trust property and holidays. I then edited a selection, and picked out a few which I thought would look the most effective. After that I drew from them sometimes only picking out certain details. This worked well because some of them didn’t appear like flowers it looked more of an abstract pattern. I liked this as it will appeal to a wider target audience and gives an original twist, which is the effect I was after.

However to create the trees and flower scene, I have used the rubber stamp technique to generate different images. This technique is great, you mark out your design on to a rubber and then cut away areas using a scalpel. Next gently ink your stamp and print, the outcomes give a quite child like effect. This was taken from part of my exhibition piece for arts weeks this year. I really liked two background designs and have wanted the opportunity to make them into a surface design; this was perfect and fitted with my chosen theme well. 

A selection of designs..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Chosen Designs …

tiger print 34 tiger print 33 tiger print 15 tiger print 9 tiger print 4

 

These two designs didn’t fit with the brief …

tiger print 1  tiger print 16

Leave a comment